Tonight’s Dinner….. Mediterranean Spaghetti

Well…let me start by saying that some days I don’t know what to cook for dinner and tonight was no exception. It was Sunday and this should be a leisurely day, but…Chris and I have to work this weekend. (We are both Nurses and every other weekend is a requirement). Okay, so now I need to come up with something that is worthy of a “Great Meal”. I didn’t get a chance to go to Trader Joe’s this week since I wasn’t feeling well so my pantry is not as stocked as I would like it to be. This recipe contains ingredients that you probably have on hand in your pantry.
My husband Chris said it was yummy and he has never lied to me, so I hope you think so too!

Spaghetti 1/4 lb. per person
1 LG can Stewed Tomatoes Drained and smashed
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
3 Cloves Garlic
2 Cups Baby Spinach
5 Leaves Fresh Basil
1/4 Cup Pine Nuts
1 Can Chic Peas
1/4 Cup Fresh Frozen Peas
1 Tablespoon each of these spices, Cumin, Nutmeg, Dill, Cayenne Pepper (really not going to add too much heat)
1/4 Cup Fresh Romano Cheese

In Large Frying pan or Wok, Saute Garlic until almost brown…but do not burn
add the tomatoes that have been drained
now add the remaining ingredients and spices.
While you are stirring the tomato mixture you should be boiling your water for the Spaghetti
Prepare Spaghetti according to directions, when done, place Spaghetti in large bowl and pour tomato mixture on top.
While this dish looks like regular spaghetti, the spices are “Delightful” and are very prominent in Mediterranean Cooking. That is what inspired me to call this dish…”Mediteranean Spaghetti”

I am starting to think of new and exciting recipes even as I am sharing this one with you! That is what is so exciting to me about cooking.
Thank you for showing an interest in this Blog!!! My inspiration is sparked when I am reminded of the people that are interested in an easy approach to good cooking. I am not kidding when I tell you that I wake up in the morning and start thinking of what I can cook for the day, even while I am having my coffe with my Hubby! I know I have told you all before…he is my biggest fan! I do what I do because he enjoys it so much! Cooking for Chris is so different than cooking for a growing family, although I have been there, and LOVED cooking for my children, who are now all grown and out of the house.

Leave a Reply

